Imaginary World

“Cliff of Moher, Ireland” by Gunter Heyde, Flickr

“The soul is the only bird that sustains its cage”
Victor Hugo

Everything is grey today. I walk slowly along the cliff and sit down near the long steep slope. The freezing wind rushes through every gap in my clothes. The raged sea breaks up into thousands of sprays on the black stone lashing my face. I stand up, soaked to the skin, and move calmly toward the edge of the cliff. Down below, the foaming water challenges me. I look up in the sky to prevent me from losing my balance. The sky also threatens me with its clouds built up in a sinister storm. It starts raining. My feet half in the unknown, my head in the clouds, I inhale deeply and close my eyes…

In a long breath, I shrug off all fear, all woe from my being and offer myself to the wind. The grey stone furls in front of my eyes until becoming a smooth surface. I gather speed, my clothes flapping against my body. Now facing the ocean, I have the feeling that the fall will never end. The shape of black rocks shows from the sea, pointing their sharp side towards me. Rocks?! An anxious feeling sweeps over me, in a desperate scream I try to save myself from this horrible end. I close my eyes, as tight as possible, I don’t want to see. And then nothing, no sound, no motion, the wind, the sea and the sky turn still and quiet… Timidly, I open my eyes to find a frightened face in front of me, in a jerk of surprise my arm plunges into a cold fluid creating a wave, the face blurs, my reflection, me. I progressively become aware of what is happening, I am hanging in the air only a few centimetres from the surface of the ocean, like time had stopped . I notice that the clouds have disappeared and given way to a dazzling sun, its warmth spreads through my body then my heart and finally reaches my thoughts, slowly my body rises higher and higher. From up here everything is splendid, a vast green meadow of soft grass covers the rocks to stop only when the blue of the sky and the ocean starts. I soar up toward the sky, flying over the country, I stop to watch a lonely man hiking the Poutoukissi. I wander during hours or maybe days to finally face the ocean again. I fly off, I fly off toward new countries, new civilisations, new landscapes. I want to discover the paper world, and its borders made of ink I have often followed. Smalls islands take shape in the ocean, the Galápagos, la mitad del mundo, my travel just began. I discover New Zeeland and its Kiwis, the Fiji’s , Malaysia, China, I follow the Trans-Siberian tracks which bring me to Mongolia, then Russia with her white cover. Europe! With Paris and its Eiffel tour, Venezia and its gondolas, Brussels for its waffles, Greece for the Greeks. Africa! I hover above the Sahara, Egypt offers me its pyramids , Ethiopia its colours, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, there is so many others, so many to discover! I swirl around, wild with happiness! My look stops on the sun, its bright golden circles fatten and attract me. I let myself go, blinded by its beauty, and think “take me Sun, take me and keep me! This is where I belong”…

Suddenly a strong force holds me back and catches me by the belt. Before being able to resist, its arms of steel throw me backward. My head hits violently the ground, when I open my eyes a man is standing before me, his face livid of rage, he is yelling and waving in every way “Are you insane! What the fuck were you doing here?”. I look around me in a complete puzzlement: everything is grey.

Leave a Reply

